Vegan Pasta bake

So for this sauce I used a cauliflower sauce, It’s so much like cheese and it’s so light, the main thing I hated when I wasn’t vegan was how heavy pasta bake cheese sauce was. Some vegan recipe tests later I found this online so I just made my own changes to it and came up with this.

img_2136

I first cooked the cauliflower, I used microwavable bags that are so handy, but you could use a steamer or whatever way you prefer to cook. I used frozen chunks, but you could use fresh cauliflower too, it would probably be nicer!

Ingredients:

for the sauce:

•A medium cauliflower

•1 cup of soy milk

•4 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

•½ tablespoon of garlic powder

•¼ tablespoon of paprika

•½ tablespoon of onion powder or 3 tablespoon of caramelized onion

•I added parsley but it’s optional

For the rest:

•I used one packet of spaghetti (appx. 1kg)

•200g of firm tofu or 1 packet of vegan quorn fillets

•2 large white onions

•optional- vegan cheese to top

•Soy sauce

small amounts of the following(A pinch), paprika, garlic powder/granules,mixed herbs, cayenne papper, gravy granules.

IMG_2133.jpg

Method:

  • cook the cauliflower, meanwhile fry onions in a little water until softened
  • Add tofu chunks or quorn chicken to the onions along with spices and gravy granules, add in a little water to make a thick-ish sauce and add in soy sauce.
  • Cook pasta on a high heat with a little salt
  • When pasta is ready, drain and add into a large baking dish
  • To make the cheese sauce:  Add the soy milk first in the blender so it ill blend easily, Add in the cauliflower, then the spices and the nutritional yeast and blend until smooth.
  • Pour the cheese sauce over the pasta and stir so all the pasta is covered
  • Then add the tofu/chicken on top and stir in a little bit, grate cheese on top of it
  • Will take about 15 in the oven for the cheese to melt (for reference I used Violife pizza cheese)

img_2130img_2139

This can also be made with a difference sauce, for example a butternut squash cheese sauce which i’ve previously posted.

Let me know if you try this 🙂 xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

