Vegan cheese sauce

So I needed to use up my butternut squash up and the shops were closed so I couldn’t buy cheese to melt so I thought i’ll just blend in up.

IMG_7211.jpg

Oh my gosh it was so good, I used a regular sized butternut squash, maybe a medium one.

This cheese sauce is so creamy, I’ve made it so many times since and it never fails.

IMG_7199.jpg

Ingredients:

•1 butternut squash

•1 cup of non-dairy milk

•3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

•½ tablespoon of garlic powder

•½ teaspoon of dried/fresh parsley

•½ teaspoon of onion powder

¤ I also added about ½ teaspoon of paprika because I put it in everything, but it’s not nessisary.

img_72081

Method:

So you can just cook your butternut squash thoroughly however you like it

You can steam them with the skin on and then peel the skin off afterwards or you can roast them with salt and pepper and again peel the skin off after wards. Also you could cut some of the skins off and steam like that, I use microwave steam bags and it takes about 5 minuets compared to the forever in the steamer.

Then you just throw all the ingredients in a blender, starting with the milk at the bottom so it all blends up easier. 

That is that, it’s so simple and is so tasty, you can add whatever other ingredients you want to add hat you might like.

Thanks for reading and let me know if you tried it 🙂 xx

 

One thought on “Vegan cheese sauce

Leave a Reply

